Gilbert Speaks on Snatched, A Mother and Daughter Romp

30 May

51eaf5a09cb3258eaf3234002fa6a48c

This holiday weekend, my daughter and I finally had the time to sneak away to the movies. We were looking for something light and fluffy to watch having already seen “Alien Covenant” and “Guardians of the Galaxy, Volume 2” with our hubbies. The trailers for Snatched looked like fun and even though I’m not a fan of Amy Schumer, I do love Goldie Hawn. Was “Snatched” worth fighting the holiday traffic to see? Find out after the jump.

Plot

Before I go into the review, I should share with you that my daughter and I believe that in some strange cosmic practical joke, we are somehow a reincarnation of Lucy Ricardo and Ethel Mertz from the “I love Lucy” series. Whenever we go anywhere together: vacations; shopping sprees; the spa, we get into trouble of some sort. This is not an exaggeration. It’s the sad truth. So watching what happened to the mother and daughter in “Snatched” didn’t seem that far of a stretch for our imagination. In fact, it seemed all the more plausible.

Spring-Daisy-by-Majesticware-1

Linda (Goldie Hawn) is a former flower child who as a divorced mom has turned into a much too settled life, where she has enough locks on her front door to rival the U.S. Mint. Her grown son, Jeffrey (Ike Barinholtz) lives at home with her. He is a nerd who also suffers from agoraphobia. Jeffrey is more boy than man as is evident in him demanding his mother butter his toast, and his calling her “Ma-ma” over and over. My daughter and I got a kick out of this scene because Rere’s boys are under the same delusion that she is there to serve them.

Emily (Amy Schumer) is definitely part of the soul-sucking “Me” generation where the world, at least in her mind, revolves around her. Emily has just lost her job and her boyfriend and, she is stuck with non-refundable tickets for a vacation to Ecuador. None of her friends have any interest on going on this trip with her. Makes you wonder if Emily has also pissed off her friends with her “Me” tunnel vision. After a visit home, Emily guilt trips her mom into going.

maxresdefault

Once at the hotel, Emily is open for adventure while mom just wants to settle in and read a book. Mother and daughter make friends with Ruth (Wanda Sykes) and Barb (Joan Cusack) two other vacationers staying at the hotel. Wanda and Joan are freaking hilarious in this film and I’m so happy that they were in a lot of scenes.

Emily is trying to come to an understanding on how her once perky and adventurous mom became such a drag. Linda tries to explain to her daughter that after you’ve turned over your entire life to your children…you sometimes forget or lose the identity of who you really are. That night, Emily meets an enchanting, too-good-to-be-true worldly traveler who takes her out on a fun date. The next day, James (Tom Bateman) offers to take both mother and daughter for a scenic day trip that leads to their being kidnapped for a ransom.

Conclusion

My daughter and I enjoyed the film with all its expected comedy and chase scenes. Goldie Hawn was her fabulous self, and Amy Schumer’s character wasn’t as raunchy as I’d expected. There are a lot of scary parts with the kidnappers and, even a much too short scene with rescuer, Roger Simmons (Christopher Meloni). Brother Jeffrey’s interaction with the U.S. State Department and Officer Morgan Russell (Bashir Salahuddin) was an added comical delight.

snatchednew

I would definitely say the film was traffic worthy and if your mother can handle the “F” word, take her to see Snatched.

4 Responses to “Gilbert Speaks on Snatched, A Mother and Daughter Romp”

  1. Loretta Sisco May 30, 2017 at 11:14 pm #

    Thank you, great review! My mom and I enjoyed it and thought it was better than the reviews it was getting.

    • gilbertspeaks May 31, 2017 at 1:55 pm #

      Hi. Loretta. I never pay attention to reviews because I’ve discovered that we can miss some worthwhile gems by listening to the naysayers. I’m glad that your mom and you enjoyed the film too. We should do a mother-daughter team for the next flick.

  2. Victoria Marie Lees June 1, 2017 at 2:53 pm #

    Loretta is right, Marie. Great review. I’ll have to see this with my daughters. It sounds funny and suspenseful. And with 2 grown daughters still living at home, I understand where Goldie is coming from. I’ve always enjoyed Goldie Hawn’s movies.

    • gilbertspeaks June 1, 2017 at 5:39 pm #

      Thank you, Victoria. I hope you enjoy the film.

Leave a Reply

