Gilbert Speaks with Author Jessica A. Walsh

16 Dec

fc

I love to interview other authors and learn about their experiences and inspirations. I belong to SJWG and it’s one of the best writers’ groups in the tri-state area. Our members, which number close to a hundred, are all very talented. When the vice-president of the South Jersey Writers’ Group had her book published, I was excited to chat with Jessica A. Walsh  on Questions for Life. Jessica A. Walsh also has two short stories published: “Unquiet Mind” published in Reading Glasses: Stories through An Unpredictable Lens in 2014 and the 2016 Chicken Soup for the Soul’s My Very Good, Very Bad Dog.

Hi Jess, I’m so excited to interview you about this book, but before we begin tell us a little bit about yourself.

Jessica A. Walsh: Thanks so much, Marie! I’m a wellness blogger on a journey to reclaim my life. You see, several years ago I found myself overwhelmed, overstressed, over-weight and downright miserable. I knew something had to change, and I knew I was the only thing that really could. So I set out on a mission to become a gentler, happier, more compassionate woman. Meanwhile, I blogged about all I was learning and experiencing in hopes of helping others, as well. Two plus years later and I can tell you with full confidence, that I am a better person today.

rsz_headshot

Tell us about Questions for Life and why you wrote it……how has it helped you?

Jessica A. Walsh: I established several different journaling practices over the past couple years, including a daily gratitude practice, writing a few lines about my day, answering a different question provided in a question journal, and also writing down my single happiest moment from every day. I was burdened by all the notebooks, though! On vacation I realized there had to be a better way. And necessity being the mother of invention, I decided to combine all my practices into one daily guided journal and write 365 of my own questions that focused on goals, creativity, relationships, self-discovery and intentional living.

For every day of the year (and keep in mind, the user fills in the year so this journal doesn’t “expire” and it is designed to be started any day of the year), you jot a few lines about your day, write what you’re grateful for, capture your happiest moment and answer a different thought-provoking question. Once you’ve finished an entire year, there is room to complete another year below your previous entries, so the journal is used for two entire years. This is so you can reflect on the year before and see how you’ve grown – something we don’t often give ourselves enough credit for. It’s also so much fun to look back on all those happy moments!

This journal trains your brain to slow down, stop living highlight to highlight, and learn firsthand that every day may not be good, but there is good in every day. It has certainly done that for me. By writing a bit about every day, I see that my life is fuller than I realized and that no matter what, there is ALWAYS something to be grateful for.  

Can anyone use this book?

Jessica A. Walsh: Yes, absolutely! And I wrote it so that every day requires no more than five minutes to complete, so even the most undisciplined or time crunched person can get in the habit. Some of the questions are geared toward adults, however, so it may not be appropriate for anyone under the age of 17.

rsz_happy

Will there be a sequel to Questions for Life?

Jessica A. Walsh: Yes! Next up is a teen/young adult version with questions written specifically for that age group (peer pressure, body insecurities, bullying, relationships, etc.). My goal is to get people expressing gratitude and reflecting daily at a younger age so they can benefit sooner. Beyond that, the sky is the limit and the questions can be geared toward numerous audiences.

Where can people purchase Questions for Life?

Jessica A. Walsh: Questions For Life is available through Amazon and Barnes and Noble online.

4 Responses to “Gilbert Speaks with Author Jessica A. Walsh”

  1. Jessica Ann Walsh December 16, 2016 at 6:48 pm #

    Reblogged this on buddhistsanghaofsouthjerseydotorg and commented:
    Thanks so much,Marie!

    • Jessica Ann Walsh December 16, 2016 at 6:49 pm #

      I didn’t mean to do that haha. Sorry!

  2. Jessica Ann Walsh December 16, 2016 at 6:48 pm #

    Thanks, Marie!

Leave a Reply

